Philadelphia Girls Rowing Club, Philadelphia Record Photo Morgue [V07]
HSP's collections contain a wide variety of materials on sports, hobbies and leisure activities. From professional sports teams and collegiate clubs to the amateur bicyclist or weekend chess enthusiast, researchers can find a wide variety of materials on the subject. This guide is divided into two sections, formalized groups/organizations, and general resources. Both sections are arranged alphabetically by title of the publication or organization. Researchers looking for materials in a specific subject are encouraged to use the guide's search feature activated by CTRL+F keys.
This guide is not all encompassing and designed to illustrate the wide variety of the subject matter. It's strongly suggested researchers also search HSP's online catalog, Discover, for additional material.
A man and his dream (A reminiscence of the musical art club) (Wt* .126)
Amphion Amateur Musical Association Records (Am .3143): The Amphion was a music club which met monthly and held concerts. Collection contains Amphion Amateur Musical Association minutes, 1849-1868. Minutes concern business and the election of members.
Artist Fund Society Minutes and Papers (Am .8058): Collection contains Artist Fund Society letters, 1836-1858 (2 vols.); and minute book, 1835-1843, with constitution, bylaws, list of members, and index.
Association of Cricket Clubs Minute Book (Am. 32052): The Association of Cricket Clubs of Philadelphia was formed to manage cricket in the Philadelphia area. The collection contains the constitution and financial statements of the association.
Athletic Club of the Schuylkill Navy Records (Collection #1684): The Athletic Club of the Schuylkill Navy of Philadelphia was an organization of wealthy men interested in amateur athletics. The charter, reports, programs, and other miscellaneous material of the Athletic Club of the Schuylkill Navy of Philadelphia. Almost no manuscript material is included, but there is some information on amateur athletics, 1887-1894.
Bryn Mawr Polo Club Minute Book (Am. 3257): The Bryn Mawr Polo Club was chartered in 1898 and existed until 1935. This volume contains membership lists and financial statements, as well as minutes concerning members and recruitment.
Falcon Barge Club of Philadelphia Records (Am. 3446): The Falcon Barge Club of Philadelphia was a rowing club. The records include the constitution and membership list.
Five O'Clock Club Lantern Slides (Collection #V27): Contains portraits of members of the Five O'Clock Club. Also depicts a print of the club pamphlet. The collection contains 66 black and white slides. Includes slides listing dates between 1883 and 1904.
Lantern and Lens Guild of Women Photographers Records (Collection #3085): The Lantern and Lens Gild was established as the Drexel Camera Club in 1905 during Mathilde Weil’s photography class at the Drexel Institute of Art, Science and Industry (now Drexel University). This small collection is rich in images of the group’s outings; their works; meeting minutes; and twentieth century photography magazines.
Jockey Club Register Book and Papers (Am. 3141 Folio): This collection contains a register of members of the Jockey Club, 1766, and the constitution and minutes of meetings, 1767-1774. The volume contains official summaries of racing at Philadelphia from the organization of the Jockey Club in 1766 until suspension of racing caused by the Revolution. This collection also contains papers regarding the history of racing in Philadelphia, compiled by Stoddart while he worked on a manuscript for publication.
Malta Boat Club Records (Collection #1525): Established as the Malta Barge Club by members of the Minnehaha Lodge of the Sons of Malta in 1860, Malta Boat Club is an amateur rowing and social club located on Boathouse Row in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Malta Boat Club's membership currently includes several prominent Philadelphians from a variety of professions. The Malta Boat Club records, 1867-2020, consist of administrative and financial records including correspondence, minutes, meeting notices and newsletters, account books and ledgers, treasurer's records, copies of the Rowing News (1954-1958), and other materials.
Merion Cricket Club (Haverford, PA) Papers (Collection #1353): Merion Cricket Club was established in 1865 outside of Philadelphia, PA as a social and athletic club and is still in operation as of 2017. Early in its history Merion was known for cricket, tennis, football (soccer), and golf, before the Merion Golf Club became its own entity. Today, the club offers a variety of athletic activities including tennis, squash, and bowling. The Merion Cricket Club (Haverford, Pa.) papers date from 1865 to 1923 and consist of scrapbooks containing letters, announcements, photographs, menus, ephemera, clippings, and other items documenting the activities of the Merion Cricket Club and its members. There is also one box of additional (loose) printed matter relating to Merion.
Ocean City Fishing Club (Ocean City, N.J.) Fishing Book (Am. 4613): The Ocean City Fishing Club was founded in 1913, and composed principally of summer residents of Ocean City, most of whom were from Philadelphia and its vicinity. The Ocean City Fishing Club still exists today, and purports to be the oldest continuously operaing fishing club in the country. The club maintains a pier at 14th Street and the Boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ. The volume contains accounts of the club, 1916.
Ocean City Fishing Club (Ocean City, N.J.) Minute Books (Collection #1526): 4 volumes of minute books spanning 1913-1928.
Penn Athletic Club of Philadelphia Papers and Photograph Albums (Collection #1820): Penn Athletic Club was a men's social and recreational club that was organized circa 1922 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania by prominent Philadelphian and Olympic rower, John "Jack" B. Kelly Sr. (1889-1960) and several of his friends. Around 1923 Penn AC decided to sponsor the West Philadelphia Boat Club, which changed its name to Penn Athletic Club Rowing Association. The rowing club enjoyed much success after Kelly and other top rowers became members and is still active as of 2017. The Penn Athletic Club of Philadelphia papers and photograph albums, 1922-1945, consists of photograph albums, membership correspondence, and other materials.
Penn Athletic Club of Philadelphia Photograph Albums (Collection # D0078): Photograph albums of members, scrapbooks, and miscellaneous framed materials of the Penn Athletic Club (26 volumes.)
Philadelphia Bicycle Club Records (Collection #1357): The Philadelphia Bicycle Club records, 1879-1902, consist of administrative materials such as minutes, charter and bylaws, correspondence meeting announcements, and membership materials, as well as financial and property records, including several materials related to the construction and maintenance of the club house at 26th and Perot streets, such as property transfer documents, construction contracts, mortgage and tax documents, and other related materials.
Philadelphia Committee of the Garden Club of America records (Collection #3458): The Philadelphia Committee of the Garden Club of America was founded in 1964 and unites ten garden clubs in the Philadelphia area. It sponsors projects and holds joint meetings of representatives from the member clubs. The collection includes bylaws, minutes, financial records, scrapbooks, and more.
Philadelphia Ducking Club minutes (Am .0635): The Philadelphia Ducking Club was a duck hunting club. Included are minutes, 1852-1918; and two volumes of records of club activities, 1852-1917, listing the number of ducks shot and hunting sites.
Philadelphia Girls Rowing Club Records (Collection #3670): The Philadelphia Girls’ Rowing Club records date from 1913 to 2011, with bulk dates of 1938 to 2011, and consist of the administrative and financial records of that organization as well as some additional membership records and rowing memorabilia. The Philadelphia Girls' Rowing Club (PGRC) was founded in 1938 by a group of seventeen women, one of the first rowing clubs for women in the United States and the oldest currently in operation.
Philadelphia Quoit Club autograph books, account books, floral calendar (Collection #D0475): The Philadelphia Quoit Club, a small, exclusive gathering of members of the Philadelphia elite, was formed in 1829. This collections consists of six volumes, four of which are autograph books. Two of the autograph books, circa 1857-1858 and 1858-1859, consist only of signatures. The other two autograph books, 1823 and 1824, have "Breckinridge" written on the front cover and contain lengthier entries. The final two volumes are an account book with list of members, 1829-1859, and "A Floral Calendar for the (vicinity?) of Troy," undated.
Philadelphia Quoit Club minutes (Am .345): Collection contains minutes of Philadelphia Quoit Club, 1829-1859.
Print Club (Philadelphia, Pa.) archives 1915-1993 (Collection #2065): Since its founding in 1915, The Print Club has achieved a national and international reputation and membership. Originally, its purpose was to establish in Philadelphia a medium for the dissemination, study, production and collection of works by printmakers, American and foreign. The collection consists of a variety of files covering its administrative, financial, exhibition, and general history, from the club's founding in 1915 to 1993.
Progressive Literary Association of Philadelphia Minutes (Collection #1205): The Progressive Literary Association engaged in recitation, composition, and debate for "the improvement of all its members in speaking and reading in public." The members tackled many topics of the day as well as many that continue to be debated.
Record of the Progressive Gardiner Society of Philadelphia (Wf* 19 v.1)
Romney Swan and Duck Shooting Minute Book (Am .841): The Rumney Swan and Duck Shooting Company was organized as a social hunting club resolved to never have more that twenty members at any one time. During its final recorded meeting, held on October 20, 1834, the company proposed to change its name to the Philadelphia and Chesapeake Duck Shooting Club. Minute book, 3 May 1830-20 October 1834, also containing constitution, bylaws, and signatures and addresses of members.
Schyulkill Fishing Company Papers (Am .3293): The Schuylkill Fishing Company was the first fishing and hunting club in the Colonies, founded in 1732, under a treaty with the Lenni-Lenape Indians. The collection contains Schuylkill Fishing Company manuscripts, 1832.
Sedgeley Club Records (Collection #3710): The Sedgeley Club, a women's social organization originally called the Bicycle, Barge, and Canoe Club, was organized in 1897 and incorporated in 1902. Sedgeley Club was the only women's boating club in Fairmount Park and the group remains active today. This collection of its records consists of correspondence, directories, insurance papers, minutes, newsletters, rental information, and other administrative files.
United Bowmen of Philadelphia Records 1828-1888 (Am .3148): The United Bowmen was founded by Titian Peale in 1828. The records include: register/target books, 1828-1858; record book, 1828-1840, containing articles and members' "hits and value" records; minute book (1842-1859) 1888, of business meetings; miscellaneous items, 1852-1888. There are also two folders containing miscellaneous correspondence, clippings, ephemera, a printed history of the club from 1888, and other items, 1850-1888.
University Glee Club of Philadelphia Records (Collection #3696): The University Glee Club of Philadelphia records include administrative and financial records, concert programs, photographs, audio recordings, and other items spanning from the 1930s to 2012. The collection documents the activities and administration of a musical group that was founded during the pre-World War II era and lasted for some 80 years. The collection is divided into three series: Administrative and financial records; Programs, concerts, members, and miscellaneous; and Photographs, audio materials, and artifacts.
An introduction to the knowledge and practice of gardening (Aa.799 B 65 v. 1 & 2)
Assorted baseball publications (Wr* .9999 v2): The collection of baseball publication primarily relates to the Philadelphia Phillies and Pittsburgh Pirates. The materials include a 1980 World Series Program (Philadelphia Phillies vs. Kansas City Royals), which includes a newspaper clipping pertaining to the winning game from a local newspaper; Philadelphia Phillies 1983 yearbook; 1988 National Baseball Hall of Fame & Museum Yearbook; Pittsburgh Pirates 1990 yearbook and more.
Fishing in the Delaware pamphlets (UNJ* .99)
How to make pictures: easy lessons for the amateur photographer (Tq .67)
HSP Collection on Tennis 1913-1961 (Collection # D0100): This small collection consists of various materials relating to tennis. Included are: a photograph of the 1913 Davis Cup team, with members identified; a reproduction of an autographed commemoration of the 1919 tournament of the Newport Casino Lawn Tennis Association; a 1931 program from the Golden Jubilee Dinner of the U.S. Law Tennis Association; a 1952 article on the first Wimbledon game; and a humorous thank you note to the HSP staff regarding a tennis-related gift to R. N. Williams, 2nd.
Kativa Chess Collection (various call numbers): Collection of over 160 books and serials spanning over 60 years. Includes a wide variety of topics from the chess strategies, to information on tournaments, as well as the political impact the game had on the world stage.
Manual of Photography (Th .62): Published by the U.S. Army Signal Corps
Marilyn and Edward Fernberger collection on Philadelphia professional and amateur tennis tournaments (Collection #3265): The collection spans from 1962-1992, and consists of large amounts of tournament files for the U.S. Pro Indoor, the Virginia Slims of Philadelphia, and other tournaments, as well as scrapbooks, scorecards, photographs, posters, audio-visual materials, and ephemera for the Virginia Slims of Philadelphia tournament, the U.S. Pro Indoor, and other tournaments and tennis activities, including the Fernberger's involvement in local youth tennis.
Marriott C. Morris collection on cycling (Collection #3712): Marriott C. Morris (1863-1948) was a resident of the Germantown section of Philadelphia Pennsylvania. He was an avid cyclist and accomplished photographer. This collection, 1881-1980, consists of materials that Morris collected regarding cycling and cycling organizations, including various published materials and ephemera. The collection also contains scrapbooks, photographs, and journal entries from cycling trips taken by Morris.
Philadelphia Fencing and Sparring Club : charter, members &c (Wi.2652)
Philadelphia Record Photo Morgue (V07): The Philadelphia Record, which was established in 1870 and closed in 1947, was for a time one of the leading newspapers in the United States. The Philadelphia Record photograph morgue is comprised of black and white photographs dating primarily from 1920-1945, though some date from as early as 1900. The collection is divided into two series: Subject (approximately 20%) and Alphabetical (approximately 80%) with the former covering events and the latter focusing on individuals and families.The collection contains many images of sports and recreational organizations and events throughout the region.
Sparring : or, The theory and practice of the art of self defence : a complete guide : classified and explained in a most simple manner (GV 1133.H5 1864)
Touring the Pennsylvania Countryside by bicycle (UPA GV 104.5.P4 P68 1992)
Yearbook of Photography for 1870 (Wzz .6841)
