HSP’s collection is rich in information regarding passengers and immigrants to America. Types of records include manuscripts such as original ship manifests, as well as many other indices and published sources such as Filby’s Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, records of various specific ethnic groups to America and Philadelphia Passenger Lists Index (1883-1948).
Researchers are encouraged to check Discover for their specific time period, area, or ethnic group of interest. Some immigration records can also be accessed through online subscription sites which can be accessed for free in HSP’s library.
Britania Ledger (1773): This record book was kept by Captain James Peters and contains a list of passengers brought by him on the Britannia from Rotterdam to Philadelphia. Accounts of the freight and head charges, and signatures of the passengers, most of whom were German, are included.
Cope Family Papers: In 1821, Thomas Cope established Philadelphia’s first packet line that offered freight service between Philadelphia and Liverpool. The line ceased operations in the 1870s. Papers of the Cope family contain extensive records of their shipping business, including correspondence, bills and receipts, freight lists, passenger lists, ledgers, and crew papers. These documents chronicle more than 500 voyages made by the Copes’ vessels.
Custom House (London, England) Redemptioner’s Registry: Handwritten transcription of Redemptioners register, 7 February 1774-29 July 1775, of all passengers embarking from any port in England. There are entries for name, age, occupation, former residence, port-bound, ship or vessel, masters name, reason leaving the country and other remarks.
General Wayne Steamboat Passage Book: Passage book of the Steamer "General Wayne" includes list of passengers, fares, etc., for trips between Cincinnati and New Orleans, December 2, 17, and 30, 1840 and April 6, 1841.
Harrold Edgar Gillingham Collection: Harrold Edgar Gillingham was a Philadelphia insurance broker and an avid Americana collector. The collection includes miscellaneous records on the Port of Philadelphia, 1792-1829, with ship baggage entries and alien passenger lists for 1798.
Holland Amerika Lijn Passenger Lists (1889-1900): Contain alphabetical lists of passengers aboard the S.S. Obdam, S.S. Veendam, S.S. Edam, S.S. P. Caland, S.S. Amsterdam, and S.S. Rotterdam, for the Commissioners of Emigration, New York. Passengers' country of origin and embarkation points are not indicated.
Journal of a Voyage from England: An anonymous record of life on board a sailing vessel, including daily activities, books read, and passengers.
S.S. Ohio Manifest: Manifest of S.S. Ohio from Liverpool to Philadelphia
U.S. Custom House Records (Philadelphia): The volume contains records of arrival of passenger vessels in the Port of Philadelphia and lists of dutiable goods imported with amounts of duty paid.
Ship passenger lists: Pennsylvania & Delaware (1641-1825) [UPA CS 68 .B76 1980], [REF CS 68 .S53 1977 v.4]
Registry(register) of arrivals at Philadelphia, 1682-1686 (1687) [Ref F 148 .R44 1884 Folio]
Quaker arrivals at Philadelphia, 1682-1750; list of certificates of removal received at Philadelphia Monthly Meeting of Friends [Ref F 152 .M985 1957]
Partial list of families who arrived in Philadelphia, 1682-1687 [XR 694]
Collection of upwards of thirty thousand names of German, Swiss, Dutch, French and other immigrants in Pennsylvania from 1727-1776: with a statement of the names of ships, whence they sailed, and the date of their arrival at Philadelphia… [Ref F 148 .R86 1965]
Rupp’s 30,000 names of emigrants landed in Philadelphia 1730-1800 [Ref F 148 .R86 1965]
Philadelphia arrivals, 1738: in the Reynell papers, incl. indentured passengers [UPA F 146 .G32 v12]
Register of ships entering the Port of Philadelphia, 1741-1742 [Am .6812]
Arrivals and clearances of vessels Phila. 1783-1880 [UPA/Ph HE 565 .U5 A3 sec 3, v1-5]
Index to passengers arriving at Port of Philadelphia, 1883-1948 [MFilm XR857:1]
Post-Revolutionary arrivals at the Port of Philadelphia [UPA F 146 .G32 v26 n3-4]
Post-Revolutionary arrivals in the Delaware River [UPA F 146 .G32 v28 n2]
Passenger arrivals at the Port of Philadelphia, 1800-1819: the Philadelphia baggage lists [Ref CS 68 .T464 1986]
Morton Allan directory of European passenger steamship arrivals for the years 1890-1930 at the Port of New York and for the years 1904-1926 at the ports of New York, Philadelphia, Boston, & Baltimore [HE 945 .A2 D5 1998]
American Line Passenger list, Philadelphia 1907 [Wd* .199 v3]
American Line: Liverpool, Queenstown, Philadelphia : SS Friesland; from Liverpool Jn 1905 [Wd* .199 v3]
American Line: steamers Haverford, Marion, Friesland, Westernland, Noorland [Wd* .199 v3]
Arrivals and clearances of vessels Phila. 1783-1880 [UPA/Ph 565 .U5 A3 sec 3, v1-5]
Collection of upwards of thirty thousand names of German, Swiss, Dutch, French and other immigrants in Pennsylvania from 1727-1776: with a statement of the names of ships, whence they sailed, and the date of their arrival at Philadelphia… [Ref F 148 .R86 1965]
History of the first year of U.S. Customs in the Port of Philadelphia, 1789 [Tf* .99 v1]
Index to passengers arriving at Port of Philadelphia, 1883-1948 [MFilm XR857:1]
Map of central harbor area of ports of Philadelphia [Wd* .16 v2]
Maritime records [UPA/Ph HE 565 .U5 A3 v1-198]
Morton Allan directory of European passenger steamship arrivals for the years 1890-1930 at the Port of New York and for the years 1904-1926 at the ports of New York, Philadelphia, Boston, & Baltimore [HE 945 .A2 D5 1998]
On the Delaware River, the Port of Philadelphia [UPA/Pam HE .P5 O5 1921]
Partial list of families who arrived in Philadelphia, 1682-1687. [XR 694]
Passenger arrivals at the Port of Philadelphia, 1800-1819: the Philadelphia baggage lists. [Ref CS 68 .T464 1986]
Philadelphia arrivals, 1738: in the Reynell papers, incl. indentured passengers [UPA F 146 .G32 v12]
Philadelphia, port of history, 1609-1837 [UPA/Ph HE 554 .P5 C48]
Port of Philadelphia, 1763-1776 [Wq* .999 v1]
Ports of Philadelphia [Wd* .16 v2]; [Wd*.999 v3]
Ports of Philadelphia: Phila., Camden, Wilmington [Wd* .9999 v2]
Ports of Philadelphia, Camden, & Gloucester [UPA/Ph HE 554 .P5 A5; Wd .164 1939]
Post-Revolutionary arrivals at the Port of Philadelphia [UPA F 146 .G32 v26 n3-4]
Post-Revolutionary arrivals in the Delaware River [UPA F 146 .G32 v28 n2]
Quaker arrivals at Philadelphia, 1682-1750; list of certificates of removal received at Philadelphia Monthly Meeting of Friends [Ref F 152 .M985 1957]
Register of ships entering the Port of Philadelphia, 1741-1742 [Am .6812]
Registry(register) of arrivals at Philadelphia, 1682-1686 (1687) [Ref F 148 .R44 1884 Folio]
Rupp’s 30,000 names of emigrants landed in Philadelphia 1730-1800 [Ref F 148 .R86 1965]
Ship passenger lists [Ref CS 68 .S53 1977]
Ship passenger lists: Pennsylvania & Delaware (1641-1825) [Ref CS 68 .B76 1992]
Ship registers of Port of Philadelphia [UPA/Ph HE 565 .U5 A3 v1-198]
American passenger arrival records: a guide to the records of immigrants arriving at American ports by sail & steam [Ref CS 49 .T46 1993]
Arrivals of alien passengers & immigrants in the United States 1820-1892 [JV 6461 .A2 1892]
Bibliography of ship passenger lists, 1538-1825; being a guide to published lists of early immigrants to North America [INDEX Z 7164 .I3 L2 1963]
Bonded passengers to America [Ref CS 61 .C62 1983]
The Compass: a concise & factual compilation of all vessels and sources listed, with reference made of all their voyages and some dates of registration [Z 5313 .U5 B36 1983]
Complete book of emigrants, 1607-1660 [Ref E 184 .B7 C593 1988]
Complete book of emigrants in bondage, 1614-1775 [Ref CS 61 .C62 1988]
Supplement to The complete book of emigrants in bondage, 1614-1775 [Ref CS 61 .C62 1988 suppl.]
Emigrants to Pennsylvania, 1641-1819 : a consolidation of ship passenger lists from the Pennsylvania magazine of history and biography [CS 68 .T47 1975 1979r]
The great migration begins; Immigrants to New England 1620-1633 [Ref F 7 .A53 1995]
Immigrant arrivals: a guide to published sources [Index Z 7164 .I3 W66 1988]
Immigrant and passenger arrivals: a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications [Ref CS 47 .U54 1983]
Passenger and immigration lists index: a guide to published arrival records of about 500,000 passengers who came to the U.S. and Canada in the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries [Index CS 68 .F537 1981]
Passenger and immigration lists index. Supplement [Index CS 68 .F537 1981 suppl.]
Passenger lists of ships coming to North America, 1607-1825 [Index Z 7164 .I3 LZ 1938]
Passengers who arrived in the U.S. Sept 1821-Dec 1823 from transcripts made by the State Dept [Ref JV 631 .A542 1969]
Dutch immigrants in U.S. ship passenger manifests, 1820-1880 [Ref E 184 .D9 S95 1983]
The complete book of emigrants, 1700-1750: a comprehensive listing compiled from English public records of those who took ship to the Americas... [Ref E 184 .B7 C593 1992]
Emigrants from England to the American colonies, 1773-1776 [Ref CS 25 .C65 1988]
Immigrants to America appearing in English records [Ref E 184 .B7 S64 1976]
Nineteenth century emigrants from Baden-Wurttemberg [Ref E 184 .G3 B9 1997]
From Bremen to America in 1850: 14 rare emigrant ship’s lists [Ref E 184 .G3 S663 1987]
German immigrants: lists of passengers bound from Bremen to NY, 1847-1854 [Ref E 184 .G3 Z563 1986]
German immigrants: lists of passengers bound from Bremen to NY, 1855-1862 [Ref E 184 .G3 Z563 1986]
German immigrants: lists of passengers bound from Bremen to NY, 1863-1867 [Ref E 184 .G3 Z563 1986]
Germans to America: lists of passengers arriving at U.S. ports [Ref E 184 .G3 G38 1988]
Germans to America-Series II: lists of passengers arriving at U.S. ports in the 1840s. [Ref E 184 .G3 G39 2002]
Notices by German and Swiss settlers seeking information of members of their families… inserted between 1742-1761 in the Pennsylvanische Berichte, and 1762-1779 in the Pennsylvanische Staatsbote [Vg .345]
Passenger lists (and fragments) from Hamburg & Bremen to Australia and the U.S., 1846-1849 [Ref E 184 .G3 S64 n23]
Reconstructed passenger lists for 1850: Hamburg to Australia… Ref E 184 .G3 S66 no.1
Reconstructed passenger lists for 1851 via Hamburg: emigrants from Germany, Austria, Bohemia, Hungry, Poland, Russia, Scandinavia, & Switzerland to Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the U.S., & Venezuela. Ref E 184 .G3 S66 no.2
Eighteenth century emigrants from Langenselbold in Hessen to America. [Ref E 184 .G3 B8 1997]
List of immigrants from Pfalz to America 1723-1749 [XCh 18]
Hamburg passengers from the Kingdom of Poland and the Russian Empire: indirect passage to NY 1855-June 1873 [Ref E 184 .J5 M667 1996]
Passengers from Ireland: lists of passengers arriving at American ports between 1811 & 1817 [Ref E 184 .I6 S34 1980]
Passenger lists from Ireland [E184.I6 P3x]
The coffin ship : life and death at sea during the Great Irish Famine [DA 950.7 .M39 2021]
Irish Immigrants of the Emigrant Industrial Savings Bank. [UNY CS 25 .R498 2001]
Irish passenger lists, 1803-1806: lists of passengers sailing from Ireland to America: extracted from the Hardwicke papers [Ref E 184 .I6 I687 1995]
Irish passenger lists, 1847-1871: lists of passengers sailing from Londonderry to America on ships of the J&J Cooke Line and the McCorkell Line. [Ref E 184 .I6 I69 1988]
The Famine immigrants, Irish immigrants arriving at the Port of New York, 1846-1851. [Ref E 184 .I6 F25 1983]
North America's maritime funnel : the ships that brought the Irish, 1749-1852 [E 49.2 .I6 P86 2012]
Port of Derry ship list from J&J Cooke’s line, 1847-1849. [Ref E 184 .I6 P58 1985]
Ships from Ireland to early America, 1623-1850 [E29.I74 D63 1999]
Alphabetical index to Ulster emigration to Philadelphia. [Ref F158.25 .A3 1996]
Italians to America: passengers arriving at U.S. ports 188-1899 [Ref E 184 .I8 I844 1992]
Select bibliography of works at the Library of Congress on Norwegian-American Immigration
[Index Z 7614 .I3 D682 1997]
Scandinavian immigrants in NY, 1630-1674 [UNY F 130 .S18 E9 1996]
Hamburg passengers from the Kingdom of Poland and the Russian Empire: indirect passage to NY 1855-June 1873 [Ref E 184 .J5 M667 1996]
Migration from the Russian Empire: list of passengers arriving at the Port of NY [Ref E 184 .R9 M54 1995]
Reconstructed passenger lists for 1851 via Hamburg: emigrants from Germany, Austria, Bohemia, Hungry, Poland, Russia, Scandinavia, & Switzerland to Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the U.S., & Venezuela. [Ref E 184 .G3 S66 no.2]
Ships from Scotland to America, 1628-1828 [REF CS 463 .D69 1998]
Swedish passenger arrivals in NY, 1820-1850 [Ref E 184 .S23 O43 1907]
Swedish passenger arrivals in U.S. ports 1820-1850 (except NY): with additions and corrections to Swedish passenger arrivals in NY 1820-1850 [Ref E 184 .S23 O44 1979]
Notices by German and Swiss settlers seeking information of members of their families… inserted between 1742-1761 in the Pennsylvanische Berichte, and 1762-1779 in the Pennsylvanische Staatsbote [Vg .345]
Dorlikon emigrants: Swiss Settlers and cultural founders in the U.S. [E 184 .S9 B3713 1996]
