The Historical Society of Pennsylvania’s collections document the history, life, and political involvement of Native Americans in North America spanning from 17th century manuscripts to present day 21st century publications. Materials on this guide range from whole collections, singular manuscripts, broadsides, microfilm, pamphlets, published accounts, and more.
This guide is by no means a list of everything HSP holds related to Native American history. To explore for additional materials, please search our online catalogue, Discover, or our online card catalogue. You can also contact a reference librarian for further assistance.
Belt of wampum delivered by the Indians to William Penn at the "Great Treaty" under the Elm Tree at Shackamoxon in 1682. "Not Sworn to and never Broken." Presented by Granville John Penn Esq of England [Bc 69 L 567].
The following collections listed contain subject matter written about, in regards to, or are created by Native American individuals, groups, or organizations along with brief descriptions. For more information about the collections or additional items by or about Native Americans, see our online catalogue, Discover, or our card catalogue (materials not listed in Discover).
Finding aids or inventories are available for many of these collections. Many are referenced directly from that collection's record in our online catalog; other finding aids are posted here. In some cases, finding aids are available only in paper format at HSP's Reference Desk or are manuscripts found in our card catalogue (e.g. Broadsides). See a Reference Librarian for assistance.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Abraham H. Cassel description of the Indians Iroquois and Delaware, 1746-1749 (Am. 541)
(1 Volume) This volume contains Delaware and Iroquois manuscripts including copies of 19th century letters from Conrad Weiser to Christopher Sauer on the customs and religion of the Iroquois and Delaware Indians.
Anthony Wayne Papers, 1765-1859 (Collection 0699)
(16 linear feet) Papers on Anthony Wayne's activities in the Revolutionary War and later, his campaign against the Indians, and the peace treaties concluded with them; journals of proceedings at treaty councils held with Indians, 1778-1795.
Broadside: A proclamation against the Indians, 1756 (Ab1756-1)
(1 item) Declaring the Delaware Indians as “enemies” by the Governor of Pennsylvania.
Broadside: A proclamation against settlement of Indian lands, 1742 (Ab1742-1)
(1 item)
Broadside: Rewards offered for Indian prisoners, 1780 (Ab1780-13)
(1 item)
Broadside: Second congress of the United States, 1793 (Ab1793-15)
(1 item) An act to regulate trade and intercourse with the Indian tribes at the second session held at the city of Philadelphia on November 5, 1792.
Broadside: A proclamation by John Penn regarding the Stumps Run Massacre, 1729-1795 (Ab1768-3)
(Broadside) Offering a reward for two escaped prisoners (John Ironcutter & Frederick Stump) from the jail at Carlisle, where they were held for the murder of ten Indians.
Broadside: Articles of a treaty, concluded at Hopewell, 1786… (Ab1786-1)
(Broadside) Between the commissioner’s plenipotentiary of the United States and the commissioner’s plenipotentiary of all the Chikasaws…
Broadside: A Proclamation by George Washington regarding the Creek nation of Indians, 1790 (1790-3)
A treaty between the president of the United States and the undersigned kings, chiefs, and warriors of the Creek nation of Indians. Created by Henry Knox after consultation with the president, senate, chiefs and warriors of Creek nation.
Conrad Weiser papers, 1696-1760 (Collection 0700)
(1.33 linear feet) Papers of Conrad Weiser, a German immigrant who settled in Pennsylvania and became an Indian affairs agent and lieutenant colonel for the British forces in the French and Indian war. Weiser was responsible for negotiating many treaties with the Iroquois which transferred land ownership from the Native Americans to the colony of Pennsylvania and ensured the support of the Iroquois for the British during the war.
Daniel Parker Papers, 1792-1846 (Collection 0466)
(10.4 linear feet) A large portion of the papers is official correspondence of the War Department in which Daniel Parker was adjutant and inspector general, 1810-1845. This collection includes petitions of Indian tribes to Thomas Jefferson, 1804-1808; Jefferson's letters to Indian chiefs, 1805-1808; Andrew Jackson letters, 1804-1818, on Indian depredations on the Tennessee River, Mobile Creek warfare.
Deed between William Penn & the Delaware Indians, 1682 (Collection 0978)
(1.5 linear feet) Deed to William Penn for land between the Delaware River and Neshaminy Creek.
David McNeely Stauffer Collection, 1609-1829 (Collection 1095)
(72.0 linear feet) Includes letters of William Penn to the Indians in Pennsylvania, 1681; miscellaneous Indian affairs spanning 1709-1767, and the French and Indian war.
Ferdinand J. Dreer Autograph Collection, 1492-1925 (Collection 0175)
(105 linear feet) This collection of autographs contains materials concerning French Refugees Colonial and Indian Affairs and a volume of John Heckewelder (MSS) - Journey with Commissioners to Indian Treaty.
Friendly Association minutes, 1755-1757 (Am. 525)
(1 volume) Includes detailed accounts of negotiations between Pennsylvania governor and representatives of the Senecas, Delawares, Shawnees, and other Indian nations.
Friends’ Indian Aid Association minutes, 1869-1878 (Am. 526)
(3 volumes) Three volumes of minutes from the Friends’ Indian Aid Association.
Gilpin Family papers, 1727-1872 (Collection 0238)
(1.33 linear feet) Contains letters of Joel R. Poinsett between 1829-1850 that deal mainly with turbulent political and economic affairs affecting the United States, including Indian affairs and Indian warfare in the Floridas.
History of Indian Tribes of North America (lithographs) by Thomas Lorraine McKenney (Bd.69.Mc.196)
(0.33 linear feet) 3 volume set of 120 portraits and biographies of eminent Native American leaders. Published in 1842.
Historical Society of Pennsylvania collection of Indian treaties and deeds (#1297)
(0.33 linear feet) Contemporary copies of treaties and deeds relating to Pennsylvania.
Historical Society of Pennsylvania Miscellaneous Collection, 1740 (Collection 425)
(14.1 linear feet) Box 11 C. Records concerning relations with Indians.
Indian Rights Association Records, 1830-1986 (Collection 1523)
(185.5 linear feet) Records of this organization span from its origins to the 1980s and include correspondence, research papers, administrative files, photographs, publications, and papers of Herbert Welsh, one of its founders. The IRA was one of the most important organizations establishing and influencing American Indian policy in the 20th century.
Indian Rights Association Records, 1864-1973 (MFilm E 93 .I418 1974)
(246 linear feet) Microfilm of Indian Rights Association Papers, collection 1523. Correspondence, 1864-1968, reels 1-98; Organizational records, 1882-1973, reels 99-104; Printed matter, 1830-1969, reels 105-132; Herbert Welsh papers, 1877-1934, reels 133-134; Photographs, reels 135; Council on Indian Affairs, 1943-1968, reel 136.
Jenkins Family papers, 1702-1902 (Collection 0319)
(3.0 linear feet) Contains autograph letters of Anthony Wayne which discuss the French and Indian War, 1744-1764.
Joel Roberts Poinsett papers, 1785-1851 (Collection 0512)
(23 linear feet) The papers of Joel Roberts Poinsett, American agent to Latin America and secretary of war in the Van Buren administration. These papers contain letters from Andrew Jackson on the Seminole War in Florida and discuss Cherokee, Creek, and Winnebago Indians.
John Parrish diaries, 1773-1793 (Am. 565)
(0.25 linear feet) These diaries discuss Indian customs, life, and habitations. It includes an account of “John Parrish’s visit to the Indians at Muskingon” in 1773; the treaty at Newton Point, 1791; a record of a trip to Lower Sandusky to conclude a treaty with the Indians, 1793.
Lancaster County Records & Papers, 1724-1816 (Collection 0352)
(1 item) Disputes between Maryland and Pennsylvania authorities, land transactions, Indians on the Susquehanna; Indian massacres, 1755.
Logan Family Papers, 1740 (Collection 0379)
(35.0 linear feet) Includes Proposals of Governor Clark to the six nations, a treaty with the six nations at Albany, Nations with whom the six nations are in alliance.
(0.25 linear feet) Deeds, treaties, and correspondence, including photostats and photographs.
Parrish and Pemberton families papers, 1614-1880 (Collection 1653)
(56.0 linear feet) The collection documents the creation of the Pennsylvania colony through records created by William Penn, as well as the continued development of the colony through records produced by Penn's associates and descendants. These records also provide valuable insights into Penn's relations with American Indians, the Pennsylvania/Maryland border dispute, government framework, as well private correspondence between family members and close associates.
Richard Peters Papers, 1730-1820 (Collection 0498)
(7.0 linear feet) Accounts of negotiations and treaties with Pennsylvania Indians tribes.
Schedules of a special census of Indians, 1880 (MFilmE 98.C3 P7 1994)
(5 reels) 1880 census of Indians of North America published by the Washington National Archives and Records Association.
Simon Gratz Autograph Collection, 1343-1928 (Collection 250A)
(190 linear feet) This collection contains contents that cover the following subjects: the French and Indian War, 1756; Indians and Indian wars, 1676-1858; chaplains in the French and Indian wars, 1732-1812; Indian affairs autographs, 1758-1807: Papers of John Reynell, commissioner
for Indian affairs, relating to Indians at Fort Augusta, Fort Pitt, 1758-1765; a copy of Cornplanter's speech to the Quakers, 1790; Indian affairs, 1756-1763, including commissioners' accounts, cash and receipt books; John Willington correspondence, 1786-1807, relates to frontier activities, Indian fighting, and United States army operations; miscellaneous papers, 1686-1880, relate to national and local politics, trade with Indians, land transactions, religion, penal law.
United American Indians of the Delaware Valley Records, 1963-1992 (Collection 3048)
(48.0 linear feet) The records in this collection include bylaws, administrative and governance correspondence and related materials, staff and community meeting minutes, membership records, officer election materials, financial records, personnel files, and client files. The United American Indians of the Delaware Valley, Inc. (UAIDV), an urban non-profit corporation, was established in June 1970 as a social center for Native Americans in the Philadelphia metropolitan area.
A pamphlet published and distributed by the Women's National Indian Association. This particular item was written by Amelia Stone Quinton (1833-1926). Quinton founded the WNIA with Mary Lucinda Bonney (1816-1900), principal of the Chestnut Street Seminery and Ogontz School for Girls. Both women feared that white settlement would encroach into Native American reservations and together their organization circulated leaflets and petitions which eventually culminated in the Dawes General Allotment Act of 1887. In general they supported christianization, education, and assimilation of Native Americans [PAM E 93 .W872 F432 1884].
Our published materials highlight different cultural aspects of Native American culture, such as: cooking/recipes, crafts, literature, poetry, news, accounts, biographies, indexes of land reservations, prominent figures, and more. Some materials have a brief “research purpose” note if they are more unique in nature (for instance, coloring books). Some particularly interesting titles in this section include: Wigwam Evenings, 1919 (collection of fables), Ceremonial Songs of the Creek & Yuchi Indians, 1911 (sheet music and history), The schooling of Native America, 1978 (essays), and American Indian Cooking and Herblore, 1973 (recipes and history). Keep in mind the list below is by no means a complete one. Please consult our online catalog, card catalogue, or librarian for assistance in finding more published materials.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
American Indian Cooking & Herb Lore, 1973 (PAM E 77 .I41 n. 65)
J. Ed Sharpe & Thomas B. Underwood, Cherokee Publications
(1 item) Contains recipes derived from indigenous tribes which included: vegetables and wild plant foods; animals, fowl, and fish foods; beverages, soups, and broths; breads; and herbs and their uses. In between groups of recipes are brief legends titled: “Selu – The Mother of Corn”, “Kanati – The Origin of Game Hunting”, and “A Gift from Heaven”.
Research Value: A look into different cultures use of resources of the land and resources at hand intertwined with legends that align with their beliefs.
American Indian Review, October 1984
(1 issue) Contents: The AIR Interview: Walter Mondale | 64% of Indians living off-reservations | Employment Buy/Sell Ability | UDAG Overview | Citizen participation in the community development block grant process.
Americans before Columbus, 1981 & 1985
(4 issues) A publication of the national Indian youth council. Volume 8, #3 contents: Camp-in at Burnham Mine Site | Indian energy notes | Notes on synfuels | The sagebrush Rebellion Smolders | Interview: LaDonna Harris | Indian People | The Spirit Woman Lives | Round Valley Songs.
Volume 8, #4 contents: Navajos occupy strip mine | Why me tonto? | New Mexico a history of four centuries | New Uranium district threatens Kaibab-Paiutes | Pueblos celebrate revolt that saved way of life | Strip mines threaten western lands | Predictions for Indian Country for the 1980s | The cause of the effect | Book review.
Volume 9, #4 contents: Indian religion faces another major setback | Orme Dam would destroy culture | Cee-truth awaits decision on appeal | Opinions in Indian country | Land dispute a struggle to preserve mankind | Urban legends fight for seed-capital | Russell Tribunal publishes report | Esquivel extends greeting to Indians | News from hemisphere | Oil thefts deplete tribal incomes | Political involvement is a luxury.
Volume 13, #1 contents: American Indian leadership poll released | NIYC files school board suits | Mother earth knows no boundaries | The slow genocide, one veto at a time | Cultural approach to mental health, part III | Dixon poster available | Smith resigns | Run benefits Navajo cancer patients | Indians skirmish for Sandinista recognition | Washington state Indians lose steelhead vote | NIYC’s freedom of religion conference generates insights.
The American Indian Coloring Book, 1962 (E 77 .I41 v.8 .n25)
Research value: To see how white Americans portrayed Native Americans in the 60s.
The Art of American Indian Cooking, 1988 (TX 715 .K499 1988)
Yeffe Kimball & Jean Anderson
(1 item) Recipes of American Indians divided by regions: southwest, pacific northwest, the plains, the south, and the east. Includes recipes for appetizers, soups, salads, vegetables, main dishes, breads, desserts, and beverages.
Research value: How different parts of the region provided different resources for each tribe – influencing their flavors and foods as a whole.
Ceremonial Songs of the Creek and Yuchi Indians, 1911 (ML 3557 .S741 C414 1911)
Frank G. Speck | Music Transcription: Jacob D. Sapir, University of Pennsylvania Museum
(1 item) Transcribed sheet music accompanied by the brief history/purpose of the song(s) of the Creek and Yuchi Indians. Vol. 1 No. 2.
Changing is not Vanishing: A collection of American Indian Poetry to 1930, 2011 (PS 591 .I55 c47 2011)
Edited by: Robert Dale Parker
(1 item) A collection of poems written by American Indians up to 1930 that encompass different ideas of cultures, history, life events and emotions that the American Indian was experiencing during different time periods.
Research value: Accounts of what certain individuals were experiencing in life in America – explores subjects not limited to: colonialism, the federal government, land, war, and the overall condition of the world through the eyes of an American Indian.
Chippewa Music, 1910 (E 51 .U6 no. 45 Copy 2)
Frances Densmore
(1 item) Chippewa songs and an analysis of their lyrics, intonation, rhythm, structure, and more. Also discusses the instruments used in Chippewa songs as well as their song writing and song pictures.
Research Value: Provides a deep dive of the Chippewa culture through expression of song/sound. Explains why specific songs were composed and sang.
Peter Cozzens
(1 item) A history of battles and negotiations between the United States and Indians from 1862-1891. These events are framed as destroying the way of Indian life while it paved the way for emergence in the United States. Such events are Wounded Knee, the Nez Perce War, the Sierra Madre campaign, and the Battle of the Little Bighorn, among others. Historic figures such as Custer, Sherman, Grant, various officers and soldiers, Indian agents, Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull, Geronimo, and Red Cloud are also discussed in Cozzen’s account.
The Education of American Indians: A Survey of the Literature, 1970 (E 97 .B38)
Dr. Brewton Berry, reproduced by: Library of Congress
(1 item) A report on the problematic literature chosen (and not chosen) for American Indian Education and the overall problems, shortcomings, causes, barriers, struggles and outcomes of a broken education system concerning Indian students. Discusses the role of the students, teachers, parents, and schools.
Research value: Data and research in the field of Indian education & Indian youth exemplifies prejudices, cultural issues, and societal impacts.
Federal and State Indian Reservations and Indian Trust Areas, 1974 (REF E93.U6553 1974)
U.S. Department of Commerce; Frederick B. Dent, Secretary
(1 item) A wide scope of basic information & statistics about Indian tribes, Indian organizations, the Bureau of Indian Affairs, the U.S. Department of the Interior, the Smithsonian Institution, other federal Agencies, and State Indian Commissions. Includes occasional images/photographs
Frontier & Indian Life And Kaleidoscope Lives, 1932 (E 77 .I41 v. 11 n. 2)
Joseph Henry Taylor
(1 item) Recollections and observations of frontier and Indian life on the Upper Missouri and Great Plains between the years of 1864-1889.
Great Indian Chiefs: A Study of Indian Leaders in the Two Hundred Year Struggle to Stop the White Advance, 1938 (E 89 .B862 1938)
Albert Britt
(1 item) Includes profiles of: King Philip, Joseph Brant, Pontiac, Tecumseh, Black Hawk, Sitting Bull, Captain Jack, and Chief Joseph. Includes portraits.
Held Captive by Indians: Selected Narratives 1642-1836, 1973 (E 85 .V474 1973)
Edited by Richard VanDerBeets
(1 item) Accounts, illustrations, maps. These accounts discuss Indian warfare, hunting, customs and manners, religion, or council procedures of the Seminole, Maliseet, Mohawk, Ottawa, Miami, Seneca, Shawnee, Comanche, Apache, and others.
The Pennsylvania Gazette
(2 volumes) An index of persons, places (volume 1) accompanied with letters and articles transcribed and indexed by The Federal Historical Records Survey (volumes 1 & 2).
Indian Lore: Merit Badge Series, Boy Scouts of America, 1942 (E 77 .I41 V. 7 n. 1)
Elliott W. Mangam and Irving F. Southworth
(1 item) A pamphlet from the Boy Scouts of America with a list of requirements for an Indian Lore badge; A history of Native American culture; A description of Native American “costumes”, moccasins, accessories and weapons, etc., and how they’re made; Briefly describes a few different dances such as “The Glide”, “Rabbit Dance”, “The Hopi Snake Dance”, and “Blackfoot Bundle Dance”, as well as a few songs; Indian sign language code.
Research Value: How the Boy Scouts of America, a predominantly white organization, viewed Native Americans and what they deemed important of their culture and their own narrative of Native American history.
Indians in Unexpected Places, 2004 (E 98 .567 D46 2004)
Philip J. Deloria, University Press of Kansas
(1 item) An account of challenging Indian stereotypes and the portrayal of Native “authenticity” juxtaposed with Indians doing “unexpected things” – singing opera, driving cars, acting in Hollywood – things that suggest new directions for American Indian history. Deloria explores how Indians in the late 19th and 20th century are portrayed and how it hindered the historical and cultural essence of Indians.
Indians at Work, 1940 (E 77 .I41 V. 10 n. 16)
United States Department of the Interior Office of Indian Affairs
(1 item) Volume 7, February 1940 issue of a news sheet for Indians and the Indian Service. Includes current events, history, art, photographs, and literature.
Indian Handcrafts, 2001 (F 98 .I5 W55 2001)
C. Keith Wilbur, M.D.
(1 item) A “how to” on crafting practical objects using traditional New England Indian techniques. Some examples include: utensils, clothing, toys, bows & arrows, pottery, pipes, ornaments, and more. Includes diagrams and brief description/history in each craft.
Research Value: To see how certain Native Americans functioned in their day-to-day lives through their resources, tools, clothing, mode of transportation/living.
The Indians’ Book: Authentic Native American Legends, Lore & Music, 1987 (E 77 .I41 V. 10 n.19)
Recorded & Edited by Natalie Curtis
(1 item) Contains 200 song-poems, tales, legends, myths, and art covering all aspects of Indian life: love and war, victory and hunting, rejoicing and thanksgiving. Also included are lullabies, laments; corn-grinding, corn-dance, ghost-dance, snake-dance songs, and much more. Includes a plethora of drawings and photographs.
Research Value: Studying the art of Native Americans gives one a glimpse of their culture, truth, tradition, thoughts, feelings, and history folded into their songs, stories, and poetry.
Ward Churchill
(1 item) Discusses the history and effects American Indian Residential schools had on the Indian population in the 19th century including forced labor, predation, torture, “indirect killing” by disease, and forcing the transfer of children into schools. Contains photographs of students, the schools, and various happenings that went on inside the institutions.
The Latest Studies on Indian Reservations, 1887 (E 93.H319 L351 1887)
J. B. Harrison
(1 item) A report of everything connected in regards to general and special relations of Indians, including: the condition and character of the schools, farming, home-life, and missionary work. The following reservations were visited: Rosebud and Pine Ridge (Southern Dakota); Omaha, Winnebago, and Santee (Nebraska); Yankton, Lower Brulè, Cow Creek, Cheyenne River and Standing Rock (Dakota); the Crow Reservation (Montana); Yakima, Nisqually, and Skokomish (Washington); Klamath Reservation (Southern Oregon).
Notable Native Americans, 1995 (REF E89.N67 1995)
Gale Research Inc. Edited by Sharon Malinowski & George H.J. Abrams
(1 item) A reference source of biographical and bibliographical information on 265+ notable Native North American men and women throughout history from all fields of endeavor – politics, law, journalism, science, medicine, religion, art and literature, athletics, education, and entertainment. Occasional portrait photographs.
Pocahontas, 1906 (E90 .P6 D7x)
Ella Loraine Dorsey
(1 item) A pamphlet regarding the impact and importance of Pocahontas on the country and white race. Includes illustrations of portraits.
The Schooling of Native America, 1978 (E 97 .S34)
American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education & The Teacher Corps.
(1 item) A book of essays that provide the following: Expression of what Native Americans believe about desirable schools and the personnel who staff them; History, culture, and education through the eyes and feelings of Native Americans; Specific agenda proposals for redressing wrongs and for attaining the potentials of a multicultural society through multicultural education. Includes photographs and a chronological history of Indian Education spanning from 1568 to 1975.
Sheridan’s Troopers on the Border, 1885 (E 83.866 .S522 K27 1885)
De B. Randolph Keim
(1 item) A narrative describing soldiers’ time spent on the Southern Plains of the U.S. under the operations of the army directed by Major Philip Henry Sheridan against the native peoples of various tribes.
The Sun Dance of the Crow Indians, 1915 (E 77 .I41 V.7 n. 5)
Robert H. Lowie, American Museum of Natural History
(1 item) A pamphlet that provides information on the Crow Sun Dance – performed when a mourner wished to avenge the killing of a close relative or friend by a hostile tribe. Includes diagrams and drawings of artifacts and materials used in the dance.
Research Value: Culture insight and history of ceremony.
Tradition of the Cheyenne Indians, 1905 [approx.] (E 77 .I41 v. 7 n. 7)
John H. Seger
A history of the tribe of Cheyenne Indians told through word of mouth from generation to generation and eventually told to John H. Seger.
Frank G. Speck | George Herzog
(1 item) History, makings, records, explanation and summary of the Tutelo Spirit Adoption Ceremony—a recurring festival in the religious cycle of the tribe.
War Ceremony and Peace Ceremony of the Osage Indians, 1939 (E 51 .U6 no. 101)
Francis La Flesche, Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology
(1 item) Describes multiple ceremonies in detail of the Osage Indians including history, description, song and dance.
Wigwam Evenings, 1919 (E 77 .I41 v.10 n.1)
Charles A. Eastman (Ohiyesa) & Elaine Goodale Eastman
(1 item) A collection of fables fit for children that show the Sioux’s values and philosophies on life—with each short story ending with a clear moral. Includes occasional illustrations.
Research value: Learning about what the Sioux value and what lessons they wish to teach their young reveals much about their culture and priorities.
Wigwam and Warpath: Minute Stories of the American Indian (E 77 .I41 v.10 n.18)
Isabel Juergens, Illustrated by: Justin Lichtie
(1 item) A collection of stories about American Indians and how they lived through the lens of famous individual Indian life stories in various separate tribes/locations.
Women in Navajo Society (E 77 .I41 v. 9 n.17)
Ruth Roessel
(1 item) Describes the role of Navajo women in their society alongside reflective personal experiences and feelings of the author.
Label, Navajo Marketing Co., Indian Weaver Brand Fine Vegetables featuring two American Indian women sitting in front of a large blanket. (Collection #3238)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC)
The Sequoyah National Research Center (SNRC) holds the world’s most comprehensive collection of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations newspapers, periodicals, and other publications. Additionally, the SNRC is home to manuscript and special collections, maps, posters, photographs, and audio-visual recordings and is the official repository for the American Indian Library Association correspondence, the National Trail of Tears Association, and the Native American Journalists Association.
The Tribal Leaders Directory
Created by the U.S. Department of the Interior, Indian Affairs, The Tribal Leaders Directory provides contact information for each federally recognized tribe. This resource also includes an electronic, map based, interactive directory that provides information about each BIA region and agency that provides services to a specific tribe. Additionally, the directory provides contact information for Indian Affairs leadership.
Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center
The Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center serves as a major resource on the histories and cultures of Native Americans in the northeast and on the region's rich natural history. The Research Center houses collections, archives, and archaeology and conservation laboratories where ongoing work from the field is evaluated and studied.
National Indian Law Library (NILL)
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
